california dreaming

california dreaming

The highlight of my California trip was definitely Dapper Day, but I had other adventures and wore other outfits while I was there! Let’s take a quick peek.

20160430_100146

20160430_120206

Dress: Pinup Girl Clothing
Cardigan: MAK
Purse: TJ Maxx
Shoes: Skechers “Magnetiza” (from DSW)

My first day in California was spent adventuring around the L.A. area (and yeah, that first picture? That’s my friend’s parent’s YARD. Crazy!). I really wanted to see the Hollywood sign, so we went to Griffith Observatory to see the sign and some nerdy space stuff at once. Perfect! (That’s the Hollywood sign wayyyy in the background of the other picture. I promise it looked bigger in person!) We also took a detour so I could make a pilgrimage to the PUG Boutique! It was just as magical as I always dreamed it would be…it’s honestly so surreal and bizarre for all the clothes I’ve admired online to be right there underneath my greedy hands. I got close to picking up a few things, but ended up not being able to get that perfect match of the right pieces in the right colors in the right size. I went home empty-handed, but I’m still so grateful for the chance to try things on. Now I definitely have an extended list of things to order next time I’m allowed to shop again! This was also the night we drove down to Anaheim and visited Trader Sam’s Enchanted Tiki Bar.

20160502_123123

IMG_20160502_153054

Dress: Eshakti
Necklace: ShopRuche
Hat: Target

After Dapper Day, we headed up the coast to Santa Barbara. The first day, I went adventuring by myself and wore a big-ass floppy hat. I did some exploring in downtown, seeing historic buildings and beautiful fountains and stopping inside the Nordstrom of a fancy outdoor mall to take a sneaky full-body pic. Also, I have to give a huge shout-out to my new Skechers. I needed a new pair of walking shoes for this trip because I knew I was going to be hoofing it all over the place. I have slightly wonky ankles, so I definitely need actual support in my shoes if I’m going to walk a lot without regretting it, and these shoes feel like walking on a cloud and are decently cute for an athletic shoe to boot. Definitely check them out!

20160503_162652

20160503_160521

Top: Kohl’s
Skirt: Hell Bunny (via Modcloth)
Necklace: Local maker
Pins: Disney
Sandals: Target

On my last day, I made it to the beautiful historic Mission and rose garden…of course I had to wear my roses skirt to match! I also couldn’t wait to wear some of the pins I picked up at Disney; this Mickey and Minnie as Bert and Mary Poppins absolutely made my heart flip. Had to have it!

Phew! It seems so much shorter breaking it down into outfits, but it really was a whirlwind trip (there was also plenty of time spent hanging out at the apartment in tank tops!). I had a lot of adventures in a short time period, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I actually was reminiscing a little bit while I was packing; the last time I went on a big vacation was to Orlando in 2014. I set a goal to try to pack all “pinup” clothes for the vacation…it was my first concentrated attempt to see if I could dress exactly how I really wanted for an extended period of time. Little did I know that not even two years later, I’d be dressing pinup every single day!

I had such a lovely time in California; it definitely has me itching to take another trip. I wonder where I should adventure to next?

2 thoughts on “california dreaming

  1. That eShakti dress is one of my favorite things you’ve posted — it just goes so well with your hair! Isn’t Griffith Park Observatory incredible? I miss Los Angeles even more now. Have you ever been to the Adler Planetarium in Chicago? I want to go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

