you can stand under my umbrella

you can stand under my umbrella

I’ve been waiting for this one for a long time, kittens…

20160610_075847
Top: Kohl’s | Skirt: Pinup Girl Clothing | Brooch: Femme de Bloom | Necklace: Shop Ruche

I was very taken with the pink umbrellas Jenny skirt from the original Magic of Mary Blair collection, but I was disappointed to see that the color was much more of a salmon in real life. It just wasn’t right for me, no matter how much I loved those sweet little parasols. Luckily, this summer’s Mary Blair collection includes this beautiful recolored version: yellow umbrellas Jenny!

20160610_075811

It’s a beautiful, buttery pastel yellow in person, exactly the color I was hoping for! The touches of red and green in the skirt give you a lot of options for styling it, but I had to go with my personal favorite of black and white stripes for this maiden voyage!

The skirt fits true to size; I was a bit nervous, since there’s been a lot of discussion on the PUG Customer Lounge lately about size runs being off or pieces being mislabeled, but this is perfect. I’m usually able to squeeze myself into the Jenny skirts that run small, but it’s nice to have one that fits perfectly like this. It’s fitted without being tight.

I’m wearing the skirt today without any underskirt or crinoline underneath, which is how I usually wear my Jennys for work. I think it has a bit less “poof” factor than some of my other Jenny skirts, but still definitely has a pretty fullness without enhancement!

20160610_08023820160610_080248

Because umbrellas always make me think of Mary Poppins, I paired the skirt with my “Practically Perfect in Every Way” brooch. Add in my pearl earrings and lucky swallow necklace, a nice swipe of MAC So Chaud lipstick, and I was ready to go!

I can’t wait to get a few more pieces from this year’s Mary Blair collection…I have my eye on some planes and boats!

2 thoughts on “you can stand under my umbrella

  1. Yay, it’s such a perfect fit on you! The yellow is lovely and cheery, too. I have to admit that I quite liked the salmon-y pink for me, but that’s probably because I’m pretty sallow and my hair is naturally orangey-brown.

    Stripes with everything! Stripes for President!

    Like

Leave a Reply

