summer essentials: orange lipstick

summer essentials: orange lipstick

Like most pinup gals, I’m pretty loyal to my red lipstick. There’s nothing quite as fierce as a red lip, and that’s definitely what I’ll always come back to if I want to look and feel fabulous. But dig if you will a fun alternative that’s perfect for summer: orange!

Okay, some of these are red oranges but whatever! Still counts! A touch of orange is so bright and fun for summertime makeup. It brings a lot of warmth to your look, and don’t we all want to look beautiful and full of warmth and sun-kissed in summer? (Except without actually having any contact with the sun, if, like me, you are a beautiful pearlescent porcelain doll who goes up in flames at the slightest hint of UV radiation.)

20160623_132436

I’ve swatched the 3 oranges I keep in my lipstick drawer which, helpfully enough, are a nice journey across price and brand as well! First up is the orangest of the three and my drugstore orange, the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Audacious.  This is my go-to for outdoor events and festivals when I want to just throw it into my bag for easy touch-ups throughout the day. It definitely doesn’t have the same kind of opaque coverage as a full on lipstick, but it’s very light on the lips, moisturizing, and has a delightfully minty scent.

Next, we have my personal favorite, MAC matte lipstick in So Chaud. This is a lovely reddish orange that goes on creamy as all get out and has a really impressive wear time. I usually choose So Chaud when I want to feel glamorous, but a little bit spunky too.

Finally, the newest addition is Urban Decay Revolution lipstick in Tilt. Now, the Revolution line has been discontinued and switched entirely to Vice, but Tilt is still part of that collection! I haven’t tried the Vice line, so I can’t speak to the formulation, but I’ve always found Urban Decay lipsticks to be very creamy. Since this one is new, it’s gotten a lot less wear than the other two, but I love how vibrant it is! (It’s looking a lot more on the red end of the spectrum in the photo above, but it definitely reads more like a true orange on my face.)

Do you ever stray from your classic red?

5 thoughts on “summer essentials: orange lipstick

Leave a Reply

