the middy files: two week report

the middy files: two week report

Everyone wants to post about a shiny new thing, but usually the real truth comes out after you’ve lived with it for a while. So after I got my middy, I decided I’d check back a few times to keep all of you in the loop on my experience. Prepare for a bunch of pictures of my face.

Am I glad I got the middy? Definitely! I will admit that after the first wash when I saw how much length I really had lost, I panicked a little bit. My first set was definitely a bit of an experiment – I used the same rollers & pattern that I’d always used on my longer hair, and struggled to get my shorter hair to wrap properly around the rollers. While the results weren’t bad, it definitely wasn’t quite what I was hoping for.

I was hoping for something a little more “Marilyn,” so I poked around for some inspiration and ended up deciding to try pincurls. They’re a heck of a lot more work, but I have to say that I love the results.

I definitely feel like I’m able to get a lot more body in the places that I want it, and that front swoop? The middy just makes my hair WANT to go that way, which is absolutely fabulous. I’m still struggling a bit to get the back just how I like it (the curls tend to fall out quite quickly), but overall, I love the shape that I get through a somewhat messy Marilyn inspired pincurl set. (I’ve been using this pattern from VaVoom Vintage as a starting point.)

The biggest “struggle” of a middy is that it’s not a wash and wear style, but thanks to the natural wave of my hair, I don’t think it looks too bad unset. It isn’t #hairgoals or anything, but I wouldn’t be embarrassed to go out in public with it either. I’m really pleased that I made the leap, and I can’t wait to keep pushing myself and trying new hair adventures!

Let me know if you have any questions about the middy cut, or if you’d be interested in another check in a little ways down the line!

2 thoughts on “the middy files: two week report

Leave a Reply

