of pins & themes

of pins & themes

One of my dearest friends recently said to me, “You know, if you were a kindergarten teacher, you could dress in theme every day.”

“You say that like I don’t already,” I replied.

20160629_080626

Whether subtle or obvious, I’ve always loved to dress to a theme. I’ve often thought it’s not really worth throwing a party if there’s no potential for themed costumes, and I bring that enthusiasm for dress up into my “everyday” clothes as well.

I wanted to write this post to highlight the gorgeous enamel pins I purchased from Ann Shen, and funnily enough, the outfits I paired them with both fell clearly into the realm of themed!

This beautiful typewriter pin was the first one that caught my eye, so of course I had to craft my outfit around the theme of “intrepid girl reporter.” I always love an excuse to include props in my outfit of the day photographs…I feel a lot more comfortable with something to “act” around.

20160712_081314

I purchased the lipstick and powder puff pins at the same time as the typewriter, but didn’t get to wear them until several weeks later because I was patiently awaiting the delivery of this Lindy Bop skirt (it appears to be out of stock now, but you can find other pieces in this print on their site). I saw it not long after I placed the order for the pins, and I knew I had to wear them together.

20160712_081125

The pins are beyond adorable, and very shiny and high quality. They’re larger than a lot of enamel pins I’ve seen, which gets a big thumbs up from me since I prefer to wear mine as brooches. She also has a series of lovely mermaid pins, which of course I have my eye on. You can purchase pins, art prints, cards and more from her shop, all featuring her adorable illustrations.

Do you like to dress on theme?

Leave a Reply

