tiki bars: foundation

tiki bars: foundation

IMG_1561

In my short time blogging, I have told you tales of tiki bars far and near, but the time has finally come to share what I consider to be my “home” bar: Foundation!

(If you’re saying to yourself “Hey Penny, the photos in this post are a million times better than your usual photos, what gives?”, first of all, rude, and second of all, yeah, they totally are. I went to Foundation with a coworker who brought her nice fancy camera and was gracious enough to let me use her photos for this post!)

IMG_1565

Located inside an unassuming old house, Foundation is a tropical oasis in not-so-tropical Milwaukee. Though it doesn’t look like much from the outside, inside you’ll find a fabulous traditional tiki bar. It’s dark and intimate, lit with colorful pufferfish lights and bedecked in the finest Polynesian Pop style.

IMG_1571

I will freely admit that I’m totally spoiled by the drinks at Foundation; this bar seriously cares about quality cocktails and crafts each drink specially using fresh ingredients like honey and real pomegranate. This means that drinks can take a while to make it to you, especially on a busy night, but who’s going to complain about hanging out a little longer in a tiki paradise? I would much rather wait for a truly delicious drink. Plus, these drinks pack a serious punch, so you won’t need too many to be having a grand ol’ time…

The staff has always been super friendly. The bartenders work cheerfully but efficiently when it’s busy, but are definitely more than happy to chat if you visit during a lull. I got to see a few photos from a pilgrimage trip to Mai Kai during one visit – these guys definitely take tiki seriously!

IMG_1597IMG_1610

Foundation offers a few cocktails that come with collectible mugs, including a custom Rum Barrel (which I still have to add to my collection…I’m waiting for the right night to tackle it! I took home that Moai in the first image above during this trip…the mermaid mug already lives on my bar cart.).

I feel so incredibly lucky to have such an amazing tiki bar in my own backyard! Honestly, if I could choose to have any of the tiki bars I’ve visited in my own city, I would stick with Foundation every time.

The Verdict (Out of 4 possible tiki torches)

Ambiance: DD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 Preview
Drinks: DD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 Preview
Mugs: DD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 Preview
Service: DD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 PreviewDD Tiki Torch Vectors 65409 Preview
Food: N/A (Carry-ins are permitted.)

Leave a Reply

