easy everyday pinup makeup for lazy broads

easy everyday pinup makeup for lazy broads

There are three things you should know about me:

  1. I love makeup.
  2. I love spending a lot of time leisurely getting ready, experimenting to create the perfect look.
  3. I really love sleep.

As you might be able to guess, these things have a tendency to conflict when it comes to getting ready for work in the morning. I want to look fab, but I also want to stay in bed until the very last possible minute.

I’ve been asked to do a tutorial on my everyday makeup look, but honestly, this is way too simple for it to even count as a “tutorial” so instead, let’s just call it a get ready with me. So come with me into my not especially well lit bathroom – you can sit on the toilet or the edge of the tub if you like – and watch me do my face.

20160819_07461520160819_074633

I start off with BB Cream. I don’t actually have any real allegiance to the one I’ve been using – I’d heard good things about it so I picked it up, but I’m not sure I really think it’s doing anything for me. But it has some SPF so at least that’s something! Dab it on and buff it in with a flat top brush.

20160819_07474020160819_074747

Next up: brows! You can read a full review of the ELF brow stuff I use and my process for applying it here. Basically, I apply the cream with an angled brush; I’m just looking to accentuate my natural brows a bit, not do any dramatic reshaping. I use Urban Decay’s Vanity as powder to seal my brows, just for that hint of purple.

20160819_075027

Getting ready for a special occasion, I love to play with eyeshadows. Getting ready for work? Slap a neutral color on that lid and go, girl. My go-to is Urban Decay’s DTF.

20160819_07510120160819_075156

It’s hard to take pictures of yourself doing eyeliner. I use the NYX Super Skinny felt tip  marker. My basic method is 1) draw the bottom of the wing 2) draw the outline of the rest 3) go back and fill it in. This is from a Cherry Dollface tip and totally changed my eyeliner game! Give it a shot!

20160819_075438

I use L’Oreal Miss Manga mascara. I’ve ping-ponged back and forth between high end/designer and drugstore mascaras for years, but for now I’m digging this one. It’s not the best I’ve ever used, but it works.

20160819_07554420160819_075602

Apply blush. I use a Cargo blush that I got for free in a swag bag (aww yee) that has a nice blend of different pinks and a touch of gold that I find really flattering to my skintone. Realize you’ve put on way too much blush and blend it out with your fingers.

20160819_075729

And voila! Put your glasses on and you’re done! I wear lipstick if I feel a particular outfit needs it or I’m feeling particularly sassy, but I usually skip it for the everyday. That’s pretty much what I do every morning before work…it’s not fancy, but it does the trick.

What’s your everyday makeup routine like?

 

Leave a Reply

