watch/read/listen: spooky edition! | glam ghoul’s guide

watch/read/listen: spooky edition! | glam ghoul’s guide

betty-grable-vintage-halloween-pinup

Last month I shared some of the things I’d been reading, watching, and listening to lately that I thought other retro-loving ladies would enjoy. For this extra special SPOOKY edition for my Glam Ghoul’s Guide, I have some recommendations that are helping me get into a Halloween mood! (Not that I need much help…)

Listen:

Okay, it’s not the MOST vintage thing in the world, but this song definitely has some old-timey flair…with sick dance remix beats! Every time I listen to it, I turn into a one-woman Halloween rave.

Watch:

I have, of course, started my annual repeated viewings of spooky classics like The Addams Family, Sleepy Hollow, Beetlejuice, Edward Scissorhands, etc. But when I’m craving some old school scares, you can’t beat the original House on Haunted Hill with Vincent Price. It has all the twists, turns, and campy black-and-white scares that your heart desires. Best of all, it’s currently streaming on Amazon Prime! I know what I’m watching tonight!

Read:

The Jazz Age is a little bit farther back than I personally go for style inspiration, but it’s a great time for MURDER! The Poisoner’s Handbook is a fascinating non-fiction book about the beginnings of forensic chemistry. As I’ve said many times before, I’m a sucker for true crime, and this book provides plenty of fascinating stories plus the science behind discovering how to detect different poisons. It’s a super fun read, and perfect to get you good and creeped out (and thinking about how to go about poisoning people…I mean…)

Throughout Spooktember and October, I’m sharing everything a vintage gal needs to have the perfect Halloween with costume inspiration, decor, recipes and more! Click here to find all the Glam Ghoul’s Guide posts.

2 thoughts on “watch/read/listen: spooky edition! | glam ghoul’s guide

  1. Thanks for the recommendations! I just watched one of my favorite spooky/comedy movies. “You’ll Find Out” (1940) featuring Kay Kyser and his band, Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff and Peter Lorre. It is very Scooby-Doo in a haunted mansion and I love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

