maker spotlight: summer blue jewelry | glam ghoul’s guide

maker spotlight: summer blue jewelry | glam ghoul’s guide

Happy October, ghouls! It’s finally here! And I figured it was about time that I reviewed some fabulous spooky accessories.

img_20160924_104437

I’ve been checking out Summer Blue Jewelry for quite a while (pictured here with Halloween pins from Steph Buscema – watch for a post on those coming soon!). There are some fabulous tiki pieces in the shop, but once the Halloween jewelry started to go up, I knew I had to save myself for those! I definitely appreciated the decorated boxes, especially that cute little googly-eyed bat.

20160926_080419

img_20160926_083344

The first piece I knew I wanted were these “Fakelite” bat wing sweater clips. They’re incredibly versatile, and I knew they would add a little spooky specialness to any outfit. I love that Summer gives the options to choose pins vs. clips and 4″ vs. 6″ chain, letting you get exactly what you’re looking for out of your collar clips/sweater guard. I went with clips and a 6″ chain, cuz mama likes to wear her cardigans wide.

20160927_08040620160927_080455

Pumpkins! Because I’m a Responsible Adult (citation needed), I picked out pumpkin earrings that will work for general fall instead of only Halloween. See, thinking ahead. Once again, you have options for customization to choose which metal you’d prefer and if you want dark or light leaves. I’m usually a silver girl, but I thought the gold enhanced the harvest feel.

20160929_080734

Last but certainly not least, this fabulous Beetlejuice/Burton-esque classic Fakelite-style brooch. As much as I 1000% love ultra kitschy jewelry, I was drawn to how classy this was while still having that gothic touch. I can see myself wearing this all throughout the year, and to more formal events than I might wear a big orange Jack o’ Lantern brooch, for example. (Who am I kidding…where wouldn’t I wear a Jack o’ Lantern brooch???)

All of the jewelry I ordered came on custom cards and arrived in perfect condition. You can see and feel how well-made each piece is. I definitely plan to order from Summer again…there are quite a few brooches and necklaces that I’m already eyeing up! It really might be Halloween Everyday in Snarkland if I get my way…


glamghoul

Throughout Spooktember and October, I’m sharing everything a vintage gal needs to have the perfect Halloween with costume inspiration, decor, recipes and more! Click here to find all the Glam Ghoul’s Guide posts.

2 thoughts on “maker spotlight: summer blue jewelry | glam ghoul’s guide

Leave a Reply

