doe, a deer | halloween 2016

doe, a deer | halloween 2016

I’ve always been someone who starts planning my Halloween costume suuuper early, and I’ve been working on this concept for a while. I knew this year that I didn’t want to do anything related to pinup – I’ve seen tons of great pinup-inspired costumes, but since that’s what I wear every day, it doesn’t really feel special to wear it on Halloween. I wanted to do something a little bit different, but still true to my aesthetic.

20161029_210308

And this is what I came up with! I loved the idea of doing something super cute with just a hint of a morbid touch to it. I’d often admired the adorable deer/faun makeup I’d see other girls wear, so the slight twist of being a taxidermied faun was perfect for me.

Also, I’ve just SUPER wanted an antler crown, like, forever. So this seemed as good a reason as any to get one! I ordered this headpiece from WhiteFoxHats and am super pleased with it. The antlers are lovely and statement-making while still being delicate and feminine. There are the 4″ antlers, for the record. I waffled a lot on what size I wanted, and these are perfect!

20161029_210405

I made the plaque myself out of foam core and some beautiful paper from the art store – you can’t really tell in the pictures, but the wood grain is actually a lovely metallic gold. It really enhances the otherwordliness of the look, like some nasty fairy cut off this faun’s head.

The makeup was super easy; I didn’t want to mess around with face paints, so I just bought some cheap face powder in a shade significantly darker than my own skin and a white eyeliner pencil. Some eyeliner, black lipstick, and false lashes, and I was good to go!

20161030_005422

Here’s the outfit in action! I didn’t take any full body shots since I just wore a black t-shirt and leggings since my body didn’t exist. I’m just a severed head. πŸ™‚

It was such a fun night! The lovely creepy twins pictured above hosted a hell of a party. Protip: apple cider, caramel vodka, and champagne makes a delicious yet dangerous autumn cocktail.

As a bonus, here’s my work costume:

20161031_075959

The benefit of being a costume hoarder is that you always have something you can pull out of the closet!

I hope all of you had a safe and happy Halloween! It’s hard to believe it’s already come and gone, but luckily…

tumblr_nx3kpbaxha1tqu0ofo1_500

2 thoughts on “doe, a deer | halloween 2016

Leave a Reply

