pinup staple: high-waisted thrills skirt

pinup staple: high-waisted thrills skirt

To follow up on my How to Dress Pinup in the Workplace post, I wanted to occasionally share some of the staple pieces in my working pinup wardrobe! First up: the high-waisted thrills skirt from Steady Clothing.

20161029_122139

This skirt is the very definition of outfits made easy: pair it with any top or sweater and you’re good to go! Easy to dress up for work or dress down for play, it’s one of the most versatile pieces in my wardrobe. I currently own three: purple, teal, and a specialty skull overlay one that is no longer available.

20160830_075753

A swing skirt, it isn’t as full as something like the Jenny, but as much as I love the poof, sometimes you want to go for a slightly sleeker silhouette. The fabric these skirts are made of is wonderful – it drapes beautifully and is just heavy enough to hang nicely without any underlayers. I’ve found it to be very resistant to wrinkles, which is definitely an important factor in any outfit choice!

20161024_080030

These skirts are available directly from  Steady Clothing as well as under the name “Bugle Joy” on Modcloth. I try to keep an eye out for which site has the best coupon going and scoop one up. Now that I’m on my third, I’m definitely convinced that this is the everyday swing skirt for me, and I’ll hopefully be snapping up a few more colors during upcoming seasonal sales! (Though at $50.99, these are definitely very reasonably priced.)

img_20160929_084129

The only major downside of the High Waisted Thrills skirt is the lack of pockets. *sad trombone* I definitely do miss them, but I also love the line of the skirt. Sometimes sacrifices must be made! It is, however, machine washable.

img_20161101_084651

Sizing wise, I find the skirts to run  slightly on the snug side compared to other retro brands. There’s no stretch to the waistband, so make sure you’re very careful with your waist measure before ordering. I have skirts in both 2X and 3X; the 2X do fit, but I will probably order 3X going forward for comfort’s sake. The skirts close with a zipper and a button & tab on top; I certainly don’t mind just a zipper, but the addition of the button does add a nice finishing touch.

As you can tell, I’m especially taken with the purple skirt and have been wearing it a lot in my fall ensembles. A perfect swing skirt available in a wide variety of colors is definitely a must-have in any pinup wardrobe!

4 thoughts on “pinup staple: high-waisted thrills skirt

  1. Hi, this is Genesis with Steady Clothing. Thank you for the kind review! We actually have introduced the same skirt with pockets and future Thrills Skirts will be available only with pockets! (I would also recommend shopping our Black Friday Sale 11/25-27, everything on the site will be 30-50% off) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love these skirts on you! Circle skirts are irresistible, and once you said the magic phrases (‘resistant to wrinkles’ and ‘machine washable’), I was sold! Gotta get one and try it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

