review: urban decay junkie vice lipstick palette

review: urban decay junkie vice lipstick palette

Urban Decay has been one of my favorite brands since I first started getting into makeup; after they relaunched their lipsticks as the Vice line, I spent a lot of time poring over swatches, trying to decide which ones to try. It’s a big commitment to buy a prestige lipstick…I get salty enough when a $6 tube from the drug store doesn’t turn out to be the color I hoped! Luckily, UD has our backs – the Vice lipstick palette is a great way to try out different colors without committing to a full tube!

s1860634-main-lhero

First off, there are two versions of this palette, one exclusive to Sephora and one exclusive to Ulta. Most of the colors are the same in both, but the color I was most intrigued by was definitely Junkie, a deep teal shade, so I had to go with the Sephora option.

The palette comes with a retractable lip brush; I’m not used to applying lip color with a brush, but I found this one really easy to use. The lipsticks are all super creamy and apply very smoothly. It might just be my lack of experience with using a brush, but I did feel like these lipsticks didn’t last as long as I’d like. And having to bring the whole palette with me for touch-ups instead of just a single tube is a deterrent.

I mostly bought this palette because I was interested in the “out there” colors, but the ones that most surprised me were the nudes! I’ve never really been one for nude lipstick, but I actually really liked how they looked on me. Experimenting with the Vice palette has definitely helped me get ideas about which lipsticks I might want to get full tubes of.

Unsurprisingly, my favorite color thus far is Wrath, a metallic red.

img_20161012_085915

I totally get why metallics are “in” this season. They rock!

If you’re a lipstick junkie (pun intended) who wants to play with a bunch of different colors and formulas before committing, I highly recommend the Junkie Vice palette! It’s one of my favorite beauty buys for a long time.

Leave a Reply

