two new drugstore faves

two new drugstore faves

I love makeup, and though I definitely have a very soft spot in my heart for the fancy prestige brands, a lady can’t splurge on everything. So I definitely like to experiment with drugstore options! I have two drugstore products I’ve been loving lately, so I thought I’d share.

20161130_220946
Am I a real beauty blogger now?

Milani Eye Tech Extreme Liquid Eyeliner

I’d been fairly loyal to the NYX felt-tip eyeliner, but they started drying up and crapping up on me sooner and sooner. Ain’t nobody got time for patchy eyeliner. I’d heard a lot of Youtube makeup gurus recommending Milani as a favorite drugstore brand, but I’d never tried it before. I picked up the Milani “Eye Tech Extreme” eyeliner because it promised an extreme fine tip point and easy application. I would say it definitely delivered! The pen is very natural and easy to use, and the product itself slides easily onto the skin without the tip dragging. It’s definitely wetter than the NYX product – the first few times, I definitely opened my eyes too soon and got some transfer smudged onto my eyelids. But after giving it a second or two to set, I’m super happy with how my wings have been turning out lately. I’d recommend this one to anyone who’s been struggling with winged eyeliner and wants to up their game; it’s very easy to use and feels very natural.

NYX Matte Lipstick in “Up the Bass”

I’ve been obsessing over grey lipstick lately. Thanks to an Ulta gift card I’ve been hoarding since last Christmas, I picked up a few things in their Cyber Week sale, including two grey-ish lipsticks from NYX. I’m a fan of NYX lip products, especially of the matte lipsticks. Their matte red is one of my go-tos, and it’s hard to beat the price, especially for “fantasy” colors that you might not wear much. I love both of the shades I got, but the one that’s a real winner is “Up the Bass.” It’s a gorgeous, smokey purple grey, very muted and classy. The lipstick applies mostly smoothly; I had to go over a few places to get the opacity I was looking for, but the formula is pretty good. It certainly isn’t as creamy as some high-end lipsticks, but it gets the job done. I love that it’s an unusual color while still being sedate enough to pull into a work wardrobe.

Because this wouldn’t be a proper post without a picture of me, here’s how I wore both of these products for Thanksgiving:

img_20161124_121118

Are there any new products (drugstore or otherwise) that you’ve been loving lately?

Leave a Reply

