how to keep colored hair healthy & bright

how to keep colored hair healthy & bright

In both real life and the online world, by far the most common compliment I get is “I love your hair!” Fantasy hair colors are so much fun and a great way to show off your personality, but cycle of bleaching, dyeing and styling can be rough on your lovely locks.

Friends, it doesn’t have to be that way! You can have beautiful bright hair that’s soft and healthy, without sacrificing your color. I’ve spent the past year+ with purple hair, and my hair is softer than it’s ever been. Here’s how I keep my colored hair healthy and vibrant between cuts!

keepcoloredhairhealthy

One of the best things you can do to help preserve your hair color is to wash it less often. Because I do a vintage curl set every night, I wash my hair once a week with a color-safe and sulfate-free shampoo. I’m currently using L’Oreal Paris EverPure Sulfate Free Color Care System Moisture Shampoo (what a name!)…I don’t have a particular attachment to it, but I feel like it’s served me well and is available at Target for a reasonable price!

Approximately every other week, I like to do a deep conditioning hair mask to help everything hydrated and lovely. This is another one that I don’t have any particular brand loyalty too; I usually pick up whatever is on the shelf. I’ve used a Neutrogena Deep Recovery Mask and recently picked up a Tresemme mask, and both of them have done a wonderful job of making my hair ultra-moisturized and silky smooth. It’s kind of hilarious to see how my hair naturally forms in near-ringlets after doing a mask.

Absolutely crucial to the brightness portion of the “healthy & bright” hair is Overtone. I did a full review of Overtone, but the short version is that it’s color and conditioner all in one. Your hair actually gets healthier while you refresh your color and, bonus, it’s vegan! Depending on how my color is holding up, I like to use the Go Deep Weekly Conditioner (I’m currently using Extreme Purple) either each week or every other week to give myself a nice purple zing.

The last ingredient in my recipe for healthy colored hair is Suavecita Argan Silkening Serum. It may seem like you could skip this step but don’t! I went through a period of time where my sets weren’t working out the way I wanted, and I realized that it had been a while since I used my silkening serum. Next time I washed my hair, I made sure to run a pump through my damp hair and voila – problem solved. This oil isn’t greasy, and it is seriously the best smelling thing I put on my head. Some oil treatments make me feel like I smell like a salad, but I wouldn’t mind a perfume in this scent!

My last tip is something that I know isn’t achievable by everyone, but makes a huge difference: I never use heat on my hair. Heat not only damages your hair, but it can fade your color like WHOA. See here:

When you’re already spitting in the face of the hair gods by pouring chemicals all over your head, I find it wise to avoid other sources of damage. If you must use heat tools, make sure you use a heat protectant!

That’s the inside scoop on how I keep my dyed hair healthy. Any other candy-colored babes have tips? I always love new tips, tricks and products to try!

Subscribe right here on WordPress, or follow me on Bloglovin and Instagram and like me on Facebook for more pinup fashion & vintage lifestyle!

 

3 thoughts on “how to keep colored hair healthy & bright

Leave a Reply

