movie style: white christmas

movie style: white christmas

whitechristmassnow

You guys. White Christmas. Not only is it one of the only decent Christmas movies on Netflix (yay!), it’s definitely a tradition in my family. And yes, I know lots of people think that Holiday Inn is better…but they’re dumb, because there’s no way that a movie that features bright blue ostrich feather fans could be second best to ANYTHING.

whitechristmassisters

See? If I’m ever fabulously rich one day, I’m going to pay someone to make me a replica of this costume and just wear it around the house/to the grocery store/whatever. I’m sure none of you are surprised that I was enraptured with this movie, even as a child who had no idea that she’d grow up to be a pinup. I guess you could say I imprinted on it.

WC_Still_0006.tif

When are floor-length sequined gowns with giant poufs of tulle and sequined gloves going to come back into fashion? Also, Rosemary Clooney’s hair is so on point during this whole movie. So shiny! So sculpted!

whitechristmasskirt

I definitely relate more to the Rosemary Clooney character in this movie, both as a person and in fashion sense, but Vera Ellen has some great looks too! I’m a little bit obsessed with this checked circle skirt…it would be so versatile. The pop of red from the belt gives it just the right seasonal flair.

ba17b7ffe13f61c742aef2813c3ff489

How badly do I want this gorgeous green velvet dress for Christmas??? The cross straps over the bodice are KILLING me. With the pearls? It’s just too damn fabulous. How can you be sad when you’re wearing such a beautiful dress, Rosemary?

White Christmas is definitely a beloved holiday movie of my heart, but it’s made even better by being my favorite holiday movie with regards to style! Anyone else have a style icon from a holiday movie?

Leave a comment